• Sun. Jun 4th, 2023

    Nigeria’s economic group appoints new members into its board

    ByBassey Udo

    Apr 15, 2021

    Nigeria’s economic ombudsman, the Nigerian Economic Summit Group (NESG) on Tuesday announced the appointment of eight new members into its board of directors.
    The Board also retained some old members, including its Chairman, Asue Ighodalo ; Chief Executive Officer, Laoye Jaiyeola and Kyari Bukar .
    The NESG said the newly appointed members include Ndidi Nwuneli 8, Amina Maina, Karl Toriola, Mike Sangster, Omoboyede Olusanya, Wassim El-Husseini, Nnanna Ude and Lanre Akinbo.
    Nwuneli, a holder of the national honour of member of the Federal Republic (MFR), is a co-founder and managing partner of a Lagos-based consultancy, Sahel Consulting.
    Maina, the Group Chief Operating Officer of MRS Holdings Limited, is a 1998 graduate of Business Administration from the Ahmadu Bello University, Zaria. She oversees all trading, supply, and operations of the Group whose activities span over six countries, including Nigeria.
    Toriola, the MTN Nigeria Chief Executive Officer, is an alumnus of the Obafemi Awolowo University and  a 1994, graduate of the Department of Electronic and Electrical Engineering. Heis also a holder of the Master of Science degree in Communication Systems, University of Wales, Swansea, United Kingdom and a product of the Harvard Business School, USA, London DC exBusiness School, UK, and the Institute of Management Development (IMD), Switzerland.
    Sangster, the Managing Director, Total E&P Nigeria Limited, is also the Country Chair and Representative the Total Group in Nigeria.
    In a career spanning over 24 years at Total, Sangster has served in various capacities with extensive experience in business and management.
    Olusanya, a former managing director and chief executive officer (CEO) of 9Mobile, was the CEO of Emerging Markets loopTelecommunication Service Limited (EMTS).
    He anchored and completed the sale process for 9mobile as well as Group Operating partner at Helios Investment Partners.
    Currently, the Group Chief Operating Officer, Flour Mills of Nigeria Plc.
    He was also chief transformation officer at Dangote Industries Limited; partner at GA Capital Ltd, managing director (MD) of Dancom Technologies; and acting CEO, VEE Networks, formerly ECONET Wireless.
    El Husseini is the Managing Director (MD) of Nestlé Nigeria Plc. 
    Ude, a co-chair of the Group,  representating the private sector, has been a writer on national and global affairs, policy positioning and policy reforms and Consultant to the Infrastructure Policy Commission of the Group.
    These appointments, the NESG said, brings the total number of board members to 22 Directors, with Osagie Okunbor7 as the new second Vice-Chair, and Kyari Bukar re-appointed to the board. 
    Members of the reconstituted Board of Directors, which retained Asue Ighodalo as
    Chairman, include Niyi Yusuf and Osagie Okunbor as Vice-Chairmen, and Laoye Jaiyeola as Chief Executive Officer (CEO).
    Other members include Wonu Adetayo, Frank Aigbogun, Lanre Akinbo, Tony Attah, Kyari Bukar, Juliet Ehimuan-Chiazor, and Adekunle Elebute.
    Others included Wassim Elhusseini, Amina Maina, Ndidi Nwuneli, Segun Ogunsanya, Omoboyede Olunsanya, Karl Olutokun Toriola, Foluso Phillips, Adedoyin Salami, Mike Sangster, Yinka Sanni, Nnanna Ude, and Udeme Ufot.
    The NESG quoted all members of ths Board as restating their commitment to the national interest and the country’s economy. 

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *