• Sat. Jun 10th, 2023

    Group to honour Jonathan, Atiku, Buhari’s wife,  others

    ByBassey Udo

    Oct 10, 2021


    Former President, Goodluck Jonathan, ex-Vice President, Atiku Abubakar and First Lady, Aisha Buhari  are among a number of senior citizens to be honoured by a group, West Africa Knowledge Economic Organisation (WAKEOrg) for their achievements in different spheres of life in Nigeria and Africa.

    While Jonathan would be honoured for his leadership wisdom and promotion of democratic ideals in Africa, the organizers said Abubakar would be recognised for his entrepreneurship and defence of democracy, and the First Lady for her strength of character, advocacy and activism.

    Chairman, WAKEOrg Award Selection Committee, OBC Nwolise, said on Sunday others personalities to be honoured with the regional awards for their service to the nation and humanity include the Chairman of BUA Group, Rabiu Abdulsamad, six state governors, three ministers as well as the two leaders of the National Assembly.

    The six governors billed for the WAKEOrg awards for their outstanding performance include Babajide Sanwo-Olu (Lagos), Willie Obiano (Anambra), Nyesom Wike (Rivers), Abdullahi Ganduje (Kano), Samuel Orthom (Benue) and Aminu Tambuwal (Sokoto).

    Nwolise said the ministers to be honoured include those for Humanitarian Affairs, Hajiya Sadiya Umar Farouk; Niger Delta Affairs Minister, Godswill Akpabio, and  the Minister of State for Petroleum Resources, Timipre Sylva.

    The Senate President, Ahmed Lawan, and the Speaker of House of Representatives, Femi Gbajabiamila would honoured for “their bravery and independent mindednesso to save Nigeria and deepen democracy, not minding the associated risks”.

    Michael Ajereh (also knkwn as Don Jazzy) and the Chairman, Economic and Financial Crimes Commission (EFCC), Abudlrasheed Bawa, are also to be honoured in  the youth category for their creativity and leadership skills.

    Other successful entrepreneurs to be honoured include  the founder and CEO of Innoson Motors, Nigeria’s first indigenous automobile manufacturing company, Chief Innocent Chukwuma;  founder and Chairman of Ibeto Group,  Chief Cletus Ibeto;  immediate past President and Chief Executive Officer of Transnational Corporation of Nigeria Plc, Chief Valentine Ozigbo, and Chairman of Cubana Group,  Chief Obi Iyiegbu, popularly called Obi Cubana,  while the Obi of Onitsha, Nnaemeka Achebe, would be honoured in the traditional rulers category.

    The founder and head, Prophet of Christ Mercyland Deliverance Ministry, Warri, Delta State, Senior Prophet Jeremiah Fufeyin, and Apostle Johnson Suleman, televangelist and Senior Pastor and General Overseer, Omega Fire Ministries International, Auchi, Edo State would be honoured for Deep Spiritual Knowledge, while Dr Chris Okafor, televangelist and founder of Mountain Of Liberation and Miracle Ministry would be honoured for Competence in Prophecy.

    On the criteria for the awards,  Nwolise said the organisation took into cognisance individuals with outstanding qualities in practical application of knowledge in their specific fields of endeavour.

    “We also watched out for political leaders in governance who have demonstrated strategic thinking and planning for the betterment of the people they govern by executing people-oriented services and projects.

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *