• Thu. Jun 8th, 2023

    DPR directs six deputy directors to proceed on compulsory retirement

    ByBassey Udo

    Mar 30, 2021

    Six deputy directors in the Department of Petroleum Resources (DPR) are to proceed on compulsory retirement with immediate effect.
    The affected directors were among the seven who were superiors in terms of years of service to the current Director and Chief Executive of the oil and gas industry regulator.
    Described by some staff of the agency, which has newly moved its headquarters to Abija, as a “compulsory but massive retirement of deputy directors,” the gale blew away six of the seven deputy directors.
    The deputy directors include the Head, Corporate Services, Isah Tafidah; Head, Engineering and Standard, Akann Musa; Head, Downstream Monitoring and Regulation, Mohammed Alaku; Head, Upstream Monitoring and regulation, Enorense Amadasu; Head, Safety, Health and Environment, Olusanya Bajomo; Head, Planning, Johnson Ajewole, and Head, Gas Monitoring and Regulation, Musa Zagi.
    The spokesman for DPR, Paul Osu, confirmed the development without giving details. In his response to a text message sent to him requesting official clarifications, Osu said: “Yes, it is true.” He did not expatiate further.
    But, this newspaper learned the management of the agency has already proceeded to make new appointments of persons to take over from the retirees.
    The new appointees include Mallam Ciroma as Head, Corporate Services; Sadiq Bashir (Head, Downstream Monitoring and Regulation); Garba Salihu (Upstream Monitoring and regulation); Balogun A.A (Head, Safety, Health and Environment); Babajide Fasina (Head, Planning), I.Y Abubakar (Head, Gas Monitoring and Regulation), while Akann Musa has been named to resume the position he held before as Head, Engineering and Standard.

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *